I grew up in Birmingham, Alabama and married my college sweetheart Will in 1986. We lived in Atlanta and had three little girls in four years. We lovingly refer to our girls’ babyhoods as “The Black Years”. Anna was born in 1989, Caroline in 1991 and our caboose Frances arrived in 1993. I had two miscarriages before Anna was born and another one in-between Caroline and Frances. So basically for five years I was either trying to get pregnant, miscarrying, being pregnant, recovering from childbirth or nursing a baby.  I know now that I experienced pretty severe postpartum depression after Anna’s birth, but in 1989 no one was talking about that.

I spent 20 years as a full-time mother and honestly wouldn’t trade anything for those years with my girls. In 1998 we moved to Greenville, South Carolina and have loved being closer to Will’s family.  Several years ago my parents retired in Greenville and it’s been wonderful having them close by too.  All our girls are married, so we have three fine son-in-laws, Brad and Matthew and Mike.

Caroline and Matthew married in December of 2013.  It was gorgeous and we had such a wonderful time.IMG_8723-Edit

Anna and Brad got married in June 2014.  The wedding and reception were at our home and the weather was perfect. Whew! (We had a rain plan and didn’t need it.)Anna_Brad-Wedding-383

Frances and Michael got married October of 2017, also in our backyard. somehow we once again lucked out and had beautiful weather.

Will and I enjoy teaching on marriage and parenting, and have led marriage retreats and taught classes and seminars at several local churches. We love working with younger couples and helping them navigate this difficult adventure called marriage.  We’re 34 years in at this point, and God has done some truly amazing things.  Lots of ups and downs and lessons learned. We are pretty much total opposites in personality, which somehow works!

I returned to school in 2009 and got my Masters in Counseling. I’m now a Licensed Professional Counselor at Carolina Counseling Partners, ( www.carolinacounselingpartners.com) a practice I started with two colleagues in 2015. I love working with women, couples and teenaged girls. I enjoy reading and writing, knitting, time with friends and family, and studying theology.


  1. Jenn Giles Kemper on September 28, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    Loved reading a little of your story, Melody!

  2. Aimee Kollmansberger on April 5, 2017 at 4:49 pm

    I love when Internet paths cross! I clicked over from Create + Complete but also recognize your name from the Sacred Ordinary Days Common House site 🙂 I live in Lexington, SC .

    • melodyreid on April 5, 2017 at 5:49 pm

      That is so cool Aimee! Hopefully our paths will cross in person one day soon. Thanks for your comm

Leave a Comment